Wow, it’s been a while. Somehow the past couple weeks have just flown by. I really thought that it had only been a few days since the last time I posted, but apparently not!

No real news on the weight loss front just now. I’ve maintained a steady 176, so while I haven’t lost anything, I haven’t gained it back either. It’s surprising, really, seeing as I have not been eating very well over the past week, and have only managed to exercise once a week, max, since the beginning of September.

Clearly, I’m still struggling to find a balance between student teaching, work, and music while still maintaining a healthy lifestyle, despite the fact that I have been student teaching for almost a month and working at my new job for almost two weeks. I would love to say that it has been easy to stay healthy, but honestly, it hasn’t. I’ve set a goal this week of going to the gym three times. I think that’s do-able, as I only have student teaching stuff on Monday and Tuesday, and I’m working on Wednesday and Saturday. Though, that may change. I made the mistake of agreeing to play on three of my friends’ graduation recitals this semester, and within the next two weeks, two of them have their hearing (the graded dress rehearsal, basically), and one has his actual recital. I need to learn not to overextend myself.

However, there is one good thing. I love student teaching. As I’ve mentioned on here before, I have struggled with depression and anxiety for the majority of my life. This past month, I have been happier and more confident than I have ever felt before. Maybe that is the real reason why I’ve slacked off on my exercise routine. It’s not the best reason why, but finally being happy with my life makes me feel like I don’t need to change myself so much. It’s a tough situation, but remembering how strong and confident I feel when I go running or lift weights is making me realize that I can be even happier than I am now.

I don’t plan on falling off the weight loss wagon just yet.

About Chelsea M.

I'm a former high school band geek, who went on to college to learn how to be a better band geek, and will be graduating next spring with a degree that will allow me to be a band geek for the rest of my life. Needless to say, I'm pretty thrilled about it. :)

Leave a Reply

