So, I gained a couple pounds this week. 188 lbs, even, as of this afternoon.

You know what though? I don’t really care.

Some might say that’s a bad way to look at it. That it means I’m apathetic about my weight loss. But I don’t think so.

I had a horrible week for eating healthy, and subsequently, for tracking my food. Well, maybe my eating habits weren’t horrible…I definitely stuck to my fruit and veggies rule 4 out of the 7 days this week. Yay for me! However, I completely negated that with the rest of my diet. I should have seen it coming, honestly…this was my last full week home before going back to school, and that always means dinners out with friends, bonfires, and Mom baking something delicious. Now, I had two options: enjoy myself for the last week home, or deprive myself of all of my favorite foods, even though I won’t be able to afford them at all in a couple days’ time. So, I took the first option.

And I gained a bit. And I’m fine with it.

In two days, I will be waking up bright and early to move to my first apartment. For the first time in my life, I will have complete control over what I keep in my kitchen. And, since my roommate is also trying really hard to start a healthy lifestyle, you can bet there won’t be anything unhealthy in that house.

I’m excited to start my new lifestyle. Because as much as I’ve tried over the years, the one thing stopping me has been the presence of junk in my life. I only have so much self control, and soon, I will be able to do things my way.

But for now? I’m going to indulge a little. So sue me.

About Chelsea M.

I'm a former high school band geek, who went on to college to learn how to be a better band geek, and will be graduating next spring with a degree that will allow me to be a band geek for the rest of my life. Needless to say, I'm pretty thrilled about it. :)

Leave a Reply

